Pokemon the Movie: Hoopa and the Clash of Ages review (Spoiler-Free)

Rightstuf synopsis:

The Mythical Pokémon Hoopa is the star of Pokémon the Movie: Hoopa and the Clash of Ages! When Ash, Pikachu, and their friends visit a desert city by the sea, they meet the Mythical Pokémon Hoopa, who has the ability to summon things- including people and Pokémon- through its magic ring. After a scary incident, they learn a story about a brave hero who stopped the rampage of a terrifying Pokémon long ago. Now, the threat that has been bottled up for years is in danger of breaking loose again! Can Ash help his new friend overcome the darkness within… or will a dangerous secret erupt into a clash of legends?

This is the 18th Pokemon movie in the franchise and this movie will star a a mythical Pokemon called Hoopa. This new Pokemon will also have many legendary participating in the movie. In this review, I will be talking about the pros and cons on this movie.

Story: A Hoopa in a bottle

The movie actually starts off 100 years ago in a small village representing something like the Arabian Nights. This is where we meet Hoopa, a giant-genie like Pokemon who can warp anything with its rings and even warp its arms; almost like a portal. After a while, this giant genie Pokemon decides to show off its powers and cause mayhem by attacking legendary Pokemon but thanks to an old man, he seals Hoopa’s powers in a bottle and locked it away. This leads to the creation to a small Hoopa who is friendly and kind.

Years pass and we return to the present where Ash and Pikachu, Serena, Clement and Bonnie are in Dahara City and enjoying the swimming pool and eating donuts. Things begin to get weird when someone is pranking them by swapping food for spicy berries and stealing donuts. It turns out it is Hoopa and we also get to meet two new characters, a brother and sister named Baraz and Meray who takes care of Hoopa. The story gets grim when Baraz retrieves the bottle containing the negative energy and true power of Hoopa and gets possessed and opens the bottle. This causes Hoopa to lose control and go on a rampage.

Feedback: Is the bottle full or less enjoyment?

It’s been a while since I seen a Pokemon movie and the only film I saw last time was the Arceus movie. While watching this movie, I felt it was okay but nothing grand. I like the idea of having all the legendary Pokemon fighting each other, it was rather fun to watch since I am sucker for action. The Legendary Pokemon battle was really something to look forward too and we got to see some Mega Evolution. I did find it weird that in the movie where little Hoopa can summon some legendary Pokemon and Ash can control them as if he caught them but I guess I will let it slide. As for characters, I am not going to comment on Ash’s traveling friends because I can just watch the anime and actually learn from them. I was disappointed that Team Rocket had a very small spotlight in the movie. They were there in the movie but they were not really involved with anything in the plot. Baraz and Meray are decent characters and their powers were interesting. The true Hoopa, the antagonist, was pretty average and nothing special; it was once of those rampaging and revenge villains that needed to be stopped. I saw this on TV and the run time of the movie, in my opinion, is really short if you can skip the commercials; it is about an 1 hour and 18 minutes long. Not only the movie felt short, it also feels pretty fast pace and the fight scene was slowed down so people can enjoy it.

Overall: Worth catching this movie or locking it up away?

Do I recommend this movie? It depends to be honest. I think as a Pokemon fan, you might enjoy the usual cliches. You get to see a brawl with the Legendary Pokemon and it does feel like a typical Pokemon episode. Hoopa’s powers is pretty cool and this movie made me want to get a donut. Hoopa’s design as a genie is pretty cool and intriguing and I like the idea of having a genie villain; it reminds me of Majin Buu from the Dragon Ball series. The setting for movie is another I like for some reason. Pokemon is well-known for having fiction worlds but based on actual stories and real life location and having it set in a Dubai city is something new and fitting. If you don’t mind the movie being short and fast paced, it’s a good movie to see. The characters are likable but too bad Team Rocket didn’t get as much as I thought it was going to have.

This is the shortest review I did in a long time. Have you seen this movie? What did you think about it? Comment down below on your opinion and tell me if there’s anything I missed.

Also, feel free to click on the link to buy me a “cup of coffee.” I have Ko-fi and it would be nice if you would be willing to donate. 🙂

https://ko-fi.com/H2H45DBY

5 thoughts on “Pokemon the Movie: Hoopa and the Clash of Ages review (Spoiler-Free)

  1. It would definitely have been nice if the movie was longer. It was fun enough, but certainly could have been more intense. I wanted to see more of the Legendaries to be honest, but I suppose throwing Mewtwo into the ring may have been unfair to the other Pokemon. I’m looking forward to the new Pokemon movie since Disney XD is going to be airing it soon. Hopefully it is a great return to the classics.

    • Yeah I am totally hyped for this new one coming out. No matter how old I get, Pokemon is my life and will be my first anime. For the Hoopa movie however, I thought it could have been longer. Mewtwo is too OP lol.

      • Mewtwo is definitely OP! I still say that he’s the strongest Pokemon especially since he got a Mega form. Are you going to watch the Pokemon movie on Disney XD or go see it in the theaters? (If there are any showings near you) I heard that the theaters come out a week earlier, but I’m just going to wait for TV since its so close

      • Mewtwo has two Mega forms last time I checked and it’s pretty epic XD. I think I will just watch it on Disney XD. There’s not many theaters that close by where I live. I will probably record it and watch it in my free time.

  2. Pingback: Pokemon the Movie: Volcanion and the Mechanical Marvel review (spoiler-free) | Matt-in-the-Hat

Leave a Reply

