2016: Top 5 Favorite Female Anime Characters

Hello everyone! This is Matthew and in this post, I will share with you my top 5 favorite female anime characters. If you’re wondering why I used this image of Akame for my thumbnail, it’s because I chose her for my 30 Day anime challenge day 4. Back then, I only chose one in the top of my head and this time, I want to expand more on who’s my favorite. I originally was planning to titled this post, “Top 5 Favorite Female Anime Characters Expansion Pack or +.” I also added 2016 in my title because this list may change in the future, so this is not permanent.  This list will not include anime characters I have a crush on; there will be a list for that in the future. Anyway, let’s start this list:

5. Kagome Higurashi (Inuyasha)

kagome-kagome-higurashi-18797059-500-490

I pick Kagome from the anime Inuyasha. You would think a teenager like Kagome would only have to deal with homework, tests and boys; however, this is not the case for this teenage girl. After being dragged into the Bone-Eater’s Well, Kagome’s life changes when she meets the half-demon Inuyasha and must work together to collect the Shikon Jewel Shards and fight off against bloodthirsty that want them for power. What makes Kagome one of my favorite is because she is a tough and brave girl that goes through trials to save her friends. Any average human would probably run away from danger or die, but Kagome is willing to put her life on the line. Kagome is one tough school girl.

4. Rukia Kuchiki (Bleach)

rukia-rukia-kuchiki-27495477-355-500-bleach

My next choice is Rukia from Bleach. Rukia is one of the first Soul Reapers Ichigo meets in the start of Bleach. After lending Ichigo her powers in order to save his family, Rukia becomes trapped in the human world and relies on Ichigo to do her duty as a Soul Reaper. Later on the series, Ichigo tackles more than slaying hollows. He goes through saving his friends, fighting in a war or even getting stronger in near-death situations.

Out of the girls in Bleach, I think Rukia is one of the coolest girls. Unlike most girls in some anime, she is prepared to fight. Thanks to her being raised by Kuchiki family, Rukia is disciplined in fighting and knows the risks for helping Ichigo’s battles. Also, she also knows how to slap Ichigo into sense whenever he gets discouraged especially after his first encounters with the Arrancars, Yammy and Ulquiorra.

3. Asuna Yuuki (Sword Art Online)

ggvsqh_sword-art-online_asuna-yuki

Just like Rukia, Asuna is another character I like. When we first meet Asuna in the anime, we find out she is beginner gamer and she gets trapped in Sword Art Online along with Kirito. Later as the anime progresses, Asuna joins the Knights of the Blood and gets the highest ranking. With her cooking skills and keen techniques of her rapier, Asuna is a special girl that cook up a tasty stew and even tackle the toughest enemies in video games. Besides losing everything in the Fairy Dance arc, Asuna is still the toughest gamer along Kirito in A LFeim Online; she also becomes the teams healer! In the Mother Rosario Arc, Asuna also comes close to defeating the unstoppable gamer Zekken!

A girl that likes gaming is great in my book!

2. Celty Sturluson (Durarara!!)

celty-sturluson-with-bike

Coming in second place is Celty from the Durarara!! series. Celty is a Dullahan (a headless fairy in Scotland culture) that lives with the underground doctor Shinra Kishitani in Ikebukuro and tackles odd jobs. In a city that is filled with bizarre characters, Celty is one of the characters and she is no stranger to her friends. Without her head, no one can understand what she is saying unless she uses her cellphone and anyone that can understand her body language. Besides that, she is also very dangerous. Her headless horse can shape shift into a motorcycle, a carriage and even a bike. She also controls shadow tendrils that can emit from her body, almost like extra limbs. In this anime, Celty is one of my favorite characters in the anime. She is caring to her friends such as Shizuo and Anri and she can also be cute when she is with Shinra.

1. Nagisa Furukawa (Clannad)

furukawa-nagisa-full-18324

Last but not least, we have Nagisa from the Clannad series. Born with a weak constitution, Nagisa is prone to be easily ill and go through critical situations that can lead her to repeating high school. Her life changes when a delinquent senior boy named Tomoya Okazaki meets her and agrees to help her bring back the theatrical drama club, her faith in her goal is restored and she meets new friends that will be part of her life. She also changes Tomoya’s life for the better after she learns about his troubled life.

Personally, Nagisa is one of the best girls in the anime. Nagisa is a cute girl with a gentle smile and good conscience. She is a girl who is willing to help others and put aside her own goals. She’s not a fighter like Tomoyo, or tough like Kyou or even super shy like Kotomi, she’s just a girl who is moderate. She can be shy but with Tomoya’s help, she can be brave and even go through life without troubles. Whenever she smiles, she can make anything go from bad to good. If she’s sad, she can make anyone feel for her. She is the number one in this list.

These are all the characters I have for this top 5. What are your top 5 girls? Comment below.

43 thoughts on “2016: Top 5 Favorite Female Anime Characters

  1. Great post, had to think about this one for a while but this is my top five :
    Nr 5 : Lieutant Misa Hayase from the original Macross series, who grows from a somewhat insecure navy brat, into a strong and powerful woman.
    Nr 4. Adasa Sinon from Sword Art Online 2, I just really loved her storyline abd the journey she goes through as a person. (Used to be my number 1, but I forgot a few better characters lol)
    Nr 3. Asuna Yuuki (yep, she is one of my favorites too)
    Nr 2. Rei Ayanami from Neon Genesis Evangelion. Just a really great character, both in looks and personality
    Nr 1. Major Motoko Kusanagi from Ghost in The Shell. My alltime favorite anime character, and I can’t believe I actually had forgotten her in another poll (I really must be getting old haha) But yeah, she is a blast, and one of the most powerful women in Anime that I have encountered so far.

    • Awesome choices you picked. Personally, I prefer Rei instead of Asuka. Rei is cute and more calm.
      I got a soft spot for Sword Art Online girls. Asuna and Sinon are really great. I like them. I also like Leafa.

      • Yes, I do too. I just love that show a lot, and am really looking forward to the new movie that is coming out, and where the story will head to next. Leafa is indeed a very likeable character. It would not surprise me that they will add a new female character to the movie, but we will just have to wait and see 😀

      • I am excited for the movie as well. I am one of the few that likes the anime. I even got my friend in college into Sword Art Online. I can safely say that the film will be great. 🙂

      • Well…you can add another one to that list of the few, as I am one that likes it a lot as well. I even bought myself some Sword Art Online Merchandise (including an Asuna figurine). Yes I can sometimes get obsessed by things lol. Luckily we won’t have to wait too long for the movie anymore 😀)

      • You got a Asuna figurine? Epic! I am hoping to get some figures too. Ironically, I like the anime and some of the books but I haven’t played any of the games XD.

      • I just saw it and it looks amazing. I wish I had one. I need to start saving up XD. Thanks for sharing it to me. I still need to get started on my post. I hear the books add more to the plot compared to the anime. I have more manga than the light novels. 😀

      • The books add a lot more story, but I think it is a bit too much. I have read the first novel, and basically what it does is focus the story on the progress of two levels in Aincrad. The plan is to make each book like this, so in other words, we have about 50 books to look forward to. I did enjoy reading it, but I do think that if this continues in this way (and at the moment it does) it can become a little bit tiresome. But we will see 🙂

      • I think I know what you’re talking about. I believe you’re talking about Progressive. I haven’t read it but online, people say that the books are supposed include more stuff that happened between those floors and how Asuna and Kirito gets close. I don’t mind reading the books but I sometimes I get lazy and just watch the anime. XD

      • Awesome I was right! ^_^
        I like the anime as well. I enjoy seeing the action in movement along with the voices and music. The manga is good as well but like you, the anime is better. 🙂

  2. I finished Durarara recently and Celty is my favorite character. Never thought I’d see a headless woman that is just so adorable and badass.

    Great list.

  3. Great list. I don’t know that I could just choose 5 best girls without giving some other criteria to narrow it down. That said, I really love Lita from the original Sailor Moon.

    • Yeah this took a lot of thinking. I could have expanded more on 10 or 15 but that would be too much haha. I don’t have a solid list. I bet Lita is a neat character.

  4. Solid picks man! It’s definitely a tough question and one that I certainly don’t know off the top of my head. I guess I’d say

    1. Slur (Megaman)
    2. Misaka (Railgun)
    3. Saber (Fate)
    4. Dorothy (MAR)
    5. Kuroyukihime (Accel World)

    I feel like my list switches every time! xD

    • Haha thank you. I hear Saber is one of the best girls in anime. I forgot about Kuroyukihime. She’s a powerful gamer and quite mature in her age. I am afraid my list will also change too in the future.

  5. I’m extremely picky about which females characters from anime I enjoy because most are used by the medium for fan service purposes. However, I have come across a few great characters that I thought I’d share.

    1). Winry Rockbell (Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood)
    2). Asuna Yuuki (Sword Art Online)
    3). Sakura Haruna (Naruto)
    4). Kayo Hinazuki (ERASED)
    5). Homura Akemi (Madoka Magica)

    • Yeah I noticed that in some anime, some girls are used for fanservice. I like your choices. If this was top 10, I would definitely Winry. She’s a pretty and tough girl. I like her when’s with the brothers.

  6. Pingback: TGIF Friday Funny 82: Marvel v. DC – Who won in 2016? | Matt-in-the-Hat

  7. Oooooh. Nice list. I love Celty from DRRR!!! She’s definitely bad-ass. Great of you to include her here, and #2 to boot. As for me, I can’t decide my top 5 or my top 1 for that matter. But I’m sure that Nico Robin will be one of them. I’ll still have to think about this one. But thanks for the great topic of discussion and idea. Keep it up, bro. Take care. Cheers!

    • Thanks! I got done with Duarara x2 and I wanted to include her in this list. I was thinking about adding Robin but I think I have another list I want to add her. This list was kind of tricky to do. There’s so many interesting girls XD.

  8. AGH, I’ve only seen like one of these shows, that being SAO! But I know the characters, so that’s good. Top five for me? Hmm, at the moment I’m thinking (in no particular order):
    1. Saber (Fate)
    2. Sailor Uranus (Sailor Moon)
    3. Mami Tomoe (Madoka Magica)
    4. Satsuki Kiryuin (Kill la Kill)
    5. Mikoto Misaka (Railgun)
    *6. Growing appreciation for Akane Tsunemori (Psycho-Pass)

    • Nice list! I need to spend time on the Fate series but I hear Saber is pretty awesome. I still need to check out Psycho Pass. I actually saw the game at my work and the game looks interesting. Satsuki is pretty awesome. I like her personality. Mami ;_;

  9. Great post. None of these girls could be considered boring female characters with no personality (which could apply to specific characters, unfortunately).

    “Out of the girls in Bleach, I think Rukia is one of the coolest girls.”
    Heh.
    Thanks for sharing!

  10. Cool list was not expecting to see kagome on here she’s really strong what I first fell in love with the about her 👍🏼 how can anyone not say nagisa is soo cute XD

    • Yeah Nagisa is really cute. If I was Tomoya, I would pick her to be my wife. To me, Kagome is really brave and I admire her for it. She may not be as strong like Sango, but she has courage.

Leave a Reply

