News: Surprise movie joins Toonami at Daylight Savings? YenPress adds more Spice and Wolf!

Toonami

Announced on Twitter here:

I tried finding other sources like Anime News Network and Crunchyroll to back up this news and to get more information but this the only thing I can find. Overall, it’s been announced that Toonami will be premiering an anime movie called Children Who Lost Voices. The anime film is even licensed by Sentai Filmworks and you can watch it in English Dub too. Here is the synopsis to the anime from Rightstuf:

When she hears a strange song from a crystal radio, Asuna tunes into more than just a magical stream of music. Soon, she is transported to a mysterious world where mythical beasts roam and brave warriors fight for their lives. Agartha is a land of breathtaking beauty and unimaginable danger – a place where, it is believed, even the dead can be brought back to life. But at what cost?

Directed by Makoto Shinkai (who is credited for doing Voices of a Distant Star, 5 cm per Second.)

The movie will be premiered on Daylight Savings, November 5th.

Feel free to correct this news or give me any updates.

children_who_chase_lost_voices

Spice and Wolf

During New York Comic Con, October 7th, Yen Press confirmed that they have the license to publish Isuna Hasekura’s Spice and Wolf’s short story collection and sequel! Volume 18 is the short story collection titled Spice and Wolf Volume 18: Spring Log. Here is the brief information provided by Yen Press and cover:

swolf1-18

Spice and Wolf, Volume 18: Spring Log — A collection of short stories originally serialized in Dengeki Bunko Magazine, these tales revisit the world of Lawrence and Holo in celebration of the series’ tenth anniversary.

Here information for the sequel story, Spice and Wolf New Theory: Parchment and Wolf:

swolf2-new

Spice and Wolf New Theory: Parchment and Wolf, Volume 1 — The beginning of a new adventure! Featuring Myuri, Lawrence and Holo’s daughter, the world of Spice and Wolf opens anew!

These books will be released on 2017.

8 thoughts on “News: Surprise movie joins Toonami at Daylight Savings? YenPress adds more Spice and Wolf!

  1. I remember that I tried reading spice and wolf but I stopped reading at some point, and I don’t remember the plot. Care to explain what the manga is about or have any links to give me how the story starts out? And the movie, Children who chase lost voices, I wanted to watch this movie for quite some time!

    • Well, I don’t know any links to the manga and I haven’t read the light novels, but I plan to. I seen the anime but from I understand it’s about a merchant named Kraft Lawrence who wants to start his business in a shop but he needs money. One night, he finds a mysterious girl in his wagon and it turns out it is Holo, the Wolf Deity. Holo is 600 year old Wolf Goddess who blesses the land with harvest; she appears as young girl instead. After the encounter, Lawrence helps Holo return to her home and in exchange, she will be able to help him in his business. That’s what the story begins in the best of my knowledge.
      I am curious about watching this movie ever since they announced it. It looks promising. ^^

  2. Well, I definitely don’t know anything about this film so it should be interesting. I’ll probably end up seeing it and while I won’t expect any DBZ type action from it (:P) I’ll be looking forward to a good story.

    • Me too. I never seen or heard the film until now. It’s kinda different for Toonami does this kind of movie. There is Summer Wars but usually Toonami premieres movies like Dragon Ball Z, Akira or even Bleach.

      • Definitely, this is quite the genre shift. Who knows, it could be the start of a new era for Toonami. I want it to mainly stay action of course, but a movie once in a while that doesn’t have much action would still be okay by me.

      • You might be right. Imagine if Toonami took risks and started showing anime that didn’t heavily focused action like DBZ or Gundam. We haven’t had movie for while ever since we had the month of movies in December. At least it gives people a break for today.

Leave a Reply

