30 Day Anime Challenge – Day 24

Moment That Shocked You The Most In Any Anime (Spoiler Alert if you have not seen Puella Magi Madoka Magica.)

This is where things get tricky. In the anime I have seen, I can recall moments where my jaw dropped and my eyes widen. For this day, I pick the death scene of Mami Tomoe from Puella Magi Madoka Magica. This anime follows a group of girls making a contract to be magical girls and armed with sailor dresses and special abilities to fight off the evil creatures known as Witches. However, this anime is not like ice-cream or gumdrops because this show is dark and depressing.

While watching this anime, I had feeling this show was going to be cute with serious situations. I thought it would be like a cute little girl version of Sailor Moon. Once I got past the first couple episodes, I quickly realized it got scary. Mami, one of the magical girls, is one of the strongest girls in the anime, but she unfortunately gets killed by these scary creatures from decapitation.

This part shocked me the most. Even though it was censored but I could see the lifeless body shake and the crunching noise that separated Mami’s head and body. What made worse is that she was just a little girl in middle school and seeing her getting killed was an awful experience. After her death, I knew this show was going to bumpy.

What anime shocked you the most?

12 thoughts on “30 Day Anime Challenge – Day 24

  1. Definitely that moment in Madoka is very surprising and dark. When I first watched it is had to look away from the screen when it happened and even now I still cringe. The part about Kyoko and Sayaka is dark too because you see Sayaka literally drive herself to suicide despite Kyoko, Madoka, and even Homura’s efforts to try to save her.

    Btw you should totally watch Rebellion. It’s really good and nearly as thought-provoking as the TV series.

    (And this is a bit of a creepy coincidence but “and I’m home” from episode 8’s ending theme just started playing on shuffle)

    • Yeah the anime got depressing as I watched more. Sayaka’s suicide was really sad and I didn’t like how these girls were getting killed. I do plan to watch the movie in the future. I heard there are tons of twists in it.

  2. This episode nailed the timing of Mami’s death for maximum impact and was really affective.
    I don’t know that any one anime has shocked me the most but I find there are a lot of events that happen in anime where I didn’t think the writers would go there or push it that far (which is probably why I enjoy anime because it isn’t quite predictable).

Leave a Reply

