30 Day Anime Challenge – Day 12

Saddest Anime Scene

(Spoiler Alert if you haven’t finished episode 14 Sword Art Online)

BestofScene

This was a tough answer for this question because everything I seen that was related to anime was about death and I’m saving it for later in the next questions. For this one, I pick this scene from the Sword Art Online episode 14. I will assume you seen the anime so I go into details on what happens. What makes this sad is that Kirito is disappointed that he let Asuna die even he promised he would save her and help her come home to the real world. Even he felt that his effort was in vain, Asuna still loved him and was actually happy she got to spend time with him. Just before the game disappears, they hug and say “I love you.” This part really hurts my heart.

What moment in anime made you sad?

34 thoughts on “30 Day Anime Challenge – Day 12

  1. I cried too watching this episode and throughout SAO♡, a lot of emotions run high. Good thing that the series continued as it all would have been heart breaking had the story been left unresolved that way.

    • I cried too in this episode. I really didn’t want these two to die. Kazuto and Asuna are meant to be together. It was really sad because Kazuto thought he failed at keeping his promise. Thank God he won. 🙂

      • It was a major twist and happy surprise there at this episode’s end =). And the lead into the second series of episodes I thought was pretty great. I never get why so many are critical of the second part of SAO as I enjoyed how they really ramped up the sinister character who was truly one to love to hate as he was just the worst person ever!

      • Yeah I agree with you. The ending of the episode was twist but I like the ending of it. I heard people didn’t like the other half because Asuna was made into a damsel in distress. I didn’t like the bad guy. I felt like the anime was still good. No matter what they say, Sword Art Online is one of my favorite anime. 🙂

      • It really pisses me off when people are angry about that, she was a PRISONER FOR CHRISTS SAKE, he had complete control over EVERYTHING in Elfhiem so trying to fight back was impossible because he had more control over the situation than Kayaba did and that’s what made him scary…he completely took away any chance of her fighting back >_>

      • I totally agree with you. It’s true that Asuna was obviously trapped. When that bad guy took over everything, he stripped Asuna’s skills and weapons away and making her weak.

      • I agree with you, the villain in the second arc was one messed up bastard and honestly I wanted Kirito to end him in the real world after what he tried to do….some people thought that the villain doing that was going a bit too far but they completely ignore that he is truly a twisted monster

      • Yeah some people didn’t like him because he was well normal but that is what made him scary…..true monsters aren’t outlandish villains with plots of world domination, they can be ordinary yet disturbingly twisted individuals like him >_>

      • I totally agree! In way, he showed us that anyone can be despicable in the inside. On the outside, he was rich guy who owned a game but deep down, he was a greedy and scary man. Sometimes, the villains are the ones that look normal.

      • Agreed as for sad anime scene I am gonna say when Yuuki passed away in the Mother’s Rosario arc in Sword Art Online II….that had me in tears for at least an hour and a half

      • That was going to be another option for this day. This really hurt my heart seeing Yuuki leave. What made it powerful was that everyone joined to see her leave. 😦

      • Believe it or not someone had an actual funeral in a MMO, the player’s cancer was terminal and literally thousands of players turned up in game to remember their friend and fellow MMO fan :/

  2. I loved this episode of SAO even though it was so sad. I’m currently going through my list of sad death scenes for a top 5 in a couple of weeks but the one that immediately comes to mind is Angel Beats. That makes me cry every single time.

  3. Yukinno death scene in the second series was pretty sad. A girl with terminal illness dies. She is the one that out matched Kirito in terms of speed and just immersing herself in the video game world.

Leave a Reply

