30 Day Anime Challenge – Day 5

Anime You’re Ashamed You Enjoyed

Rosario Vampire

Rosario_Vampire-capu-2-rosario-vampire-16578845-2560-1783

Even though this anime doesn’t exactly follow the story like the manga, I will admit, I had fun watching. Unlike the manga where friendship is tested and evil monsters try to rule the world, the anime adaptation is mostly focused on  comedy-romance and fanservice. Besides that, I did like the silly gimmicks like the “moments” with Tsukune and Moka, the girls bickering and Moka’s transformation into her vampire powers. If you plan to watch this, don’t expect that it follow the story. This anime should be treated as fun with some fanservice. If you’re not, read the manga.

Is there an anime you enjoyed even though you’re embarrassed to admit?

29 thoughts on “30 Day Anime Challenge – Day 5

  1. I’ve never watched this series but it has been on my “to watch” list for awhile. I do like fair warning before approaching an anime as to what I can expect. I think that by having an understanding beforehand helps to adjust our expectations to match.

  2. I don’t know if I’ve ever been embarrassed to watch a series, or say that I enjoyed it, but the closest thing would be the English version of the original Sailor Moon. The show was just so ridiculous sometimes, but overall I did enjoy watching,

      • Yes, the cheese was strong with that one. I think Sailor Moon filled a need in my young otaku life when anime options were few. With my current challenge taking up all my time, I don’t currently have plans to watch Crystal or that original series again.

      • Haha yeah. I think anime back then like this and Pokemon were made especially for children. They wanted to make it entertaining. Now with Viz taking the license, they are making this for a wide audience.

  3. I haven’t had that happen to me yet, but I like to feign embarrassment over being a big My Little Pony fan because I love the reactions when I’m subtle about it at first. It really is a fun show even if its drastically different from the other shows that I watch

  4. Mine was Diabolik Lovers lol it was just not something I would usually watch and is full of all the things I normal don’t like in a show lol but I REALLY like that show hahaha

  5. I quite enjoyed the first season of Rosario Vampire. It wasn’t a great series and it didn’t really get very far but individual moments in the show were really enjoyable (inbetween the slightly excessive fan service – but I knew I was in for that before I started watching). Thanks for sharing.

    • You’re welcome. The first season was really good because they added moments from the manga. The second season was good but it was there for fun. Still, Rosario Vampire was fun.

Leave a Reply

