Graduation – My School Life and The Future Story time

0:58 – This is how I felt when I went to my ceremony

 

I did it. I am done. I made it to the end.

Hello everyone, this is Matthew, or Matt, the owner of Matt-in-the-Hat, No Doubt About that. Today on this post, I am going to tell you a little story. To those who don’t know or already know, I have graduated from my University at CSUSB (@ 06/18/16). I received a Bachelor’s in Creative Writing. This past quarter has been really busy for me compared to the past classes I have taken. In this Spring quarter, I took five different classes and they were both English Writing classes; two online courses and three regular. As this school life comes to an end, another part of my life opens up and I must walk the path. As main character of my story, there will be challenges but I must never lose. Today I will tell you a little bit of my college life and I would like to share my emotions about my life at school and how am I feeling now.

When I first started – Fall September 2012

I wasn’t too worried about experiencing college because I did experience some at community college back when I was in high school. I was in a high school program from Sophomore to Senior year. I took regular HS classes and then took some college classes. I will admit, when I first attended a University, I was nervous on the first day. Everything was big, the place and the classrooms, I felt like a guppy in the ocean. I knew my friends from high school was going to attend here too but they were far away. We couldn’t hang out because of busy schedules. I later met some new friends in a English class for three quarters. It was an awesome feeling because they were the same like me, a couple of young kids in a big school for adults. However, it did have to end and I had to move on and meet new people in different classes in different years.

School life had it’s ups and downs, I passed my classes with ease and I had my struggles here and there. You win some and you lose some. I changed my major two times! I originally wanted to major in computer science but that was really hard. Next, I tried graphic arts and that wasn’t fun at all.

Finally, I chose English Writing and I enjoyed it. I didn’t really like writing papers for each class but it better than writing codes or buying paint supplies. Writing became my focus in school. I didn’t want to teach, I wanted to use it to say what I want to say. I wanted to express my voice. I wanted people to hear me.

the wind rises writing gif

English Writing

As I took classes, I took a class which will also change my life again. I took English 240 and the whole was required to make a WordPress Blog account and use it for class.

Brief Blogger Story – Spring 2014

I mentioned this one of my past awards from Blogger award posts, but I will briefly tell how about my early blogging life.

simon picking up jacket cape

After completing this particular English course, I told myself I wasn’t going to use this blog. As you can see, I changed my mind and decided to devote this to my hobbies, which is anime, manga, video games and randomness. It took me a while to get used to blogging and nobody knew me. After a while, after visiting some sites, I decided to comment and explore other blogs; this is how met all of you guys. I will be honest, when I first started talking to you, I was nervous. Besides school work, I never actually talked to anyone online. I was really shy talking about anime to you guys. After I participated in posts, I got an idea on who you are and what you enjoyed. I really enjoyed talking to everyone. You know who you are, talking to you was the most satisfying thing to do online. I hope we can stay friends :).

Graduation – June 18 2016

Now that I made it this far in school, it’s time to end this chapter of college. Most of are asking, “how do you feel now, Matthew”? To be honest, I am happy and proud to say that I finally did it. Ironically, I did have my doubts. I was afraid I wasn’t going to make it. I am glad I was wrong and I can now look back and smile with satisfaction :). It feels like beating the final boss of a video game. It took sweat and tears to finally complete everything. I felt like a winner. It’s all because of God, my family, my friends, professors, and you guys!

I will admit, graduation can be sad too. It also means saying goodbye to the ones that you used talk to at school. It means saying goodbye to the professors whom you made friends with. It also means saying goodbye school life. I have to say goodbye to my friends, classmates and the professors that helped build my future. My success has its moments of being bittersweet.

But, this is not the end. This is just the beginning of another exciting adventure. I am moving on to the next chapter!

The Future – What will the path take me next?

Now that I completed school, I am stuck this question that I have asked numerous times: “now what”?

To be honest, I don’t know. The only thing I can do is pray to God and ask Him what does He want me to do. I do know what I want to do. First things first, I want to spend my time with my family. School work has got me distracted this quarter and it’s time to go back and hangout with my family. The next thing would catching on my hobbies like watching anime, reading manga and playing games. I will continue to blog and tweet as well like the usual. I will also post Bible verses. I want people to know that I am a Christian and my kindness towards you was gift from God. With more free time, I want to start looking for a job. I want to be able work and earn more money.

I am walking in a unknown path and I don’t know what’s going to happen. I will move on and take with me the knowledge and courage I have gained. Thank you for reading this post. Let’s continue doing our best. We are anime fans, let’s reunite and stick together. I will still be here to talk to you. You can chat with me anytime and when that does happen, I will try to respond quickly. If you wish to follow me, let’s go together. Sometimes it does get lonely walking in a unknown road.

I am the blueninja777 of Weekly Shonen Jump, I am the owner of Matt-in-the-Hat. I review anime and manga, I share the news, and I write random posts. I like anime, manga, and video games. I am now a graduate of 2016.

I am Matthew Castillo and I love anime. No doubt about that!

simon adult walking boota

Me graduation:

38 thoughts on “Graduation – My School Life and The Future Story time

  1. Congrats on your graduation! I learned quite a bit about you in this post, and it was cool to learn how you started blogging! Sorry for my absence, by the way, I went on a break from WordPress. Good luck in life, I’m sure you’ll go far and do great things! Looking forward to getting to know you better! 🙂

    • Oh thank you very much for reading this. This was kinda brief and I could talked about my early blogging life, but I wanted to focus on my graduation and my feelings. It’s okay for being absent, everyone deserves a break :). I hope everything goes well with you. Don’t stop, keep moving forward!!

  2. Congrats. One thing I like about blogging and meeting new friends on here is learning about their lives and their accomplishments. Stay true to yourself and good luck! Trust me, I’ve been there and still am.

    • Thank you :). Blogging was bumpy years ago and I didn’t have much friends that was interest in my hobbies. I am glad to see that I have grown and met many great people like you :).

      • Yeah I noticed how friendly the community in WordPress. When I first started blogging, I was actually afraid to talk to people here. I’m glad to meet you guys. I guess it was your hobbies that drew me in. 🙂

      • I was the same when I joined WordPress as well. But over time I’ve gotten to know a great bunch of people and enjoy reading their blogs so much 🙂

      • Really? That’s really amazing. I guess we both had that experience haha. There are many amazing people out there. We just need to explore :).

      • Maybe we’re not different. Just like a Pokemon quote I heard:”Instead of focusing on our difference, we should focus on what we in common. We live in the world, same air, same moon and same sun.”
        (I think that’s how the quote goes)

  3. 😀 Congratulations on your graduation! It’s such a wonderful achievement – pushing through so many years of studying and also making great friends ^_^ Hehe so thankful that you took that English class so I can read all your awesome blog posts now! I wish you all the best in the future 🙂

    • Thank you, it was a big achievement. It took me 4 years to make it here :). Funny that the one particular English class led to me blogging. I am hoping to do my best for the future! 🙂

  4. Amazing job with graduating college! Life can be confusing and it’s perfectly normal to not know exactly where you are going to go. But God will lead you according to His will and whatever it is it will be great! I’ll be praying for your new job opportunity!

  5. Ah, I should be thanking You for being such an upstanding internet friend. As you say, this is just the beginning of another long story full of luscious plot twists and development. Looking forward to every word we exchange and, again, congrats!

    • I am glad to be your internet friend. You are a pretty cool blogger and anime fan. I do hope you continue to love anime as much as I do. As I go to the future, I am ready to chat to you and everyone else. 🙂

      • Yeah let’s spread more anime love to the fans ^^! Rather focusing on what’s different between our interest, shouldn’t we focus on what have in common, like anime? We both love the same thing. Our taste is either similar or different but we like anime. If there’s ever a cafe shop with your name on it and you are the owner, I might have to be a regular customer. I would love to try your coffee and pastry from “Takuto’s Anime Cafe”.

      • Thanks. Anime may be pricey but kindness is free for anyone. It will be the best anime cafe in my opinion. Maybe it will bring in other anibloggers out there in the world too. I dream of one day, we can all meet together in spot and talk about anime :).

  6. Pingback: Friday Funny 62: New Chapter | Matt-in-the-Hat

  7. Pingback: Sunshine Blogger Award | Matt-in-the-Hat

  8. Pingback: The Sunshine Blogger Award | Matt-in-the-Hat

  9. Pingback: The Blue Sky Tag | Matt-in-the-Hat

Leave a Reply

