Free Spirit Award

I want to thank ignite18@MarvelouslyMismatched of Marvelously Mismatched for nominating me for the Free Spirit Award. It has been a while since I was nominated for an award. Once again, thank you :). Here are the simple rules:

  • You are given a topic from the authors who nominated you to write your award post about!
  • Include the image in your post!

Sorry for this delay, I have been busy but now I got the time to do this. For this topic, ignite18@MarvelouslyMismatched gave me a topic about anime specially speaking, anime do’s and don’t or anime hits and misses.

So what is a hit anime and a miss anime? A “hit anime” would be series that is quite popular and gets the well deserve attention. It has some memorable moments, characters, and story. It may have some downfalls but they can be forgiving and/or overlooked. A “miss anime” is an anime series that fails to reach the viewers expectations. The show might start off good for a while but it might it can sometimes plummet to the ground and give the viewers a bad taste. It could have a rushed story, only one character to remember, unnecessary fanservice or overly used cliches moments.

Hit anime

Attack on Titan (or Shingeki No Kyojin) is an example of a hit anime. The reason why Attack on Titan is a huge hit in Japan and even the West is because it has an original story and theme; we have story about soldiers fighting hideous giants with blades and devices that enables them to swing around like Spider-Man. You don’t see many anime that involves people fighting giants. Even the first episode is appealing because it doesn’t hold back on the violence and the motivations of the characters. The opening songs are very addicting. Unlike most Japanese songs, AoT opening songs is a mixture of Japanese and a Rock and Roll Opera symphony that matches the theme of the show.

Attack on Titan Eren

Another anime that is considered a hit Dragon Ball Z

Dragon Ball Z_EveryoneInDragonBallZ

Dragon Ball Z is classic Shonen anime that anyone can get into. Technically, even though this anime is a sequel to Dragon Ball, the show can be very easy to get into without having to watch the first series. The show has many unique characters that gets the spotlight in fight scenes and saves room for some funny bits. We even have a main character who shows no fear when facing somebody strong and even shows mercy to some people, even though they did greater harm to others. This show is filled with explosive action and memorable elements that any fan enjoy and are used today. Even cartoons mimic DBZ.

FairlyOddparents-Vegeta

The Fairy OddParents- Maho Mushi!

codename kids next door dbz

Kids Next Door

gumball dbz

The Amazing World of Gumball

Also, the Dragon Ball series even inspired other creators to make well known series like Bleach, Naruto and One Piece.

Miss anime

Rosario Vampire can be an anime that can be a miss. Even though I really enjoy the manga, I felt that the anime was a miss in the series. The anime first starts off following from original material, but then the creators decided to add unnecessary ecchi cliches. I will not spoil the manga, but I will say the manga gets dark and the art style changes to a dark, harem series. The anime is more of silly, cute series.

Rosario_to_Vampire_season_3

Throughout online, I hear that Sword Art Online is a miss anime.

Sword Art Online tumblr_ngsgntwDmr1s1jnwao1_500

I love Sword Art Online but I do notice why people would say that. Sword Art Online has a tendency to make the protagonist OP just for the story and the anime tries to make an excuse to make him strong. Throughout the series, the protagonist, Kazuto/Kirito, often draws in female characters and creating a harem. The show mostly focuses on him and not much on the characters he encounters which often times can be boring for the viewers. I heard online that the Mother Rosario arc was good because it does NOT focus on Kirito and more on his girlfriend Asuna. A show that mainly focuses on one character and forgets the secondary character can be missed.

These are some hit and miss anime I have to talk about in this award post. I hope this was entertaining for some readers out there. What are your hit and miss anime?

Here the nominees I choose for this Free Spirit Award:

Diana

KemdirimOkezie

ramyunbowl

Row

L-zerb

Anime Review Girl

Denny Sinnoh

thinktankred91

Muranodo

Takuto’s Anime Cafe

For this new topic, I want to know what is the ideal Friendship? Does it consist a group of friends that stay together or it it just one friend? Do you act like a family or brother/sister? Basically I am saying is what makes a good friend? Have fun writing about this question ^^

106 thoughts on “Free Spirit Award

  1. Oh Nellie, y’all should know that I’m terrible with awards by now, but I humbly accept it from one of the best guys I know, Matt –Thank you very much! I’m not sure when I’ll get around to it, but I will surely keep it in mind πŸ™‚
    Attack on Titan is THE hit anime that I know of, so I definitely agree. And Kirito, did that opinion shock your OP tea-drinking skills? πŸ˜›

  2. Hi! Thanks for giving me something to write about– Something I have strong feelings on, nonetheless! Sorry for the late reply, I was out of town helping my grandmother winterize her house.

    I went through some of my watched lists and remembered I thought these were misses:

    5 Centimeters Per Second – There just wasn’t the same feeling in it. I think it’s because it had less than the book, but that shouldn’t be an excuse for me to care less about the characters.

    GTO – I can’t really put my finger on it… It just didn’t measure up to the awesomeness of the books. It bugs the crap out of me that I can’t figure it out, either!

    One Piece – The voice acting kills it for me EVERY. TIME.

    And I know this is a little bit different, but I really, really disliked the Absolute Boyfriend drama. I thought it was too melodramatic and overall not well done.

    I know there’s one more in there.. I just can’t shake it loose right now, so I’ll be back later.

      • I wanted to update you! I am up to more than four pages of text that I need to edit. I’m trying to time it to commit on Thursday so I cam give my latest post (an interview with a self-published author) proper air time.

      • FINALLY done!!! I must’ve edited and rewrote it at least seven times… But I like it. It’s a bit personal–but so is friendship!! I have so much more to say, but this is a good start πŸ™‚

        goo.gl/eLIG0i

        Also, how do I create a pinkback like yours to post here? Do I just copy the body of yours? Or is there a special way I have to enter my comment? Thanks!!

      • That’s awesome, I bet it must have been difficult to compile your thoughts and emotions in one post. I am not sure how to a pinkback, but I guess to do that, you have copy the url from my post and add it to your post. I hope it helps, this usually happens rarely.

      • Hmm. I even tried asking my husband, but he couldn’t help me more than the WordPress page. Even people in the know can’t do everything. πŸ˜‰ Oh– He’s a software engineer with a focus on web dev, so I thought he could just do it with a snap haha!!

      • Wow, kinda ironic but that’s cool. It must be awesome to have a husband who specialize on software engineering. Looks like WordPress needs to take 101 classes again Lol.

      • Haha!! It can be interesting, but also aggravating. He’s always busy with his own stuff. He was supposed to make me my own site for my editing and writing business, but he doesn’t have time since he got promoted. It’s awesome and amazing for him, but I don’t know how to do it myself…

      • Thank you! On both counts!! He’s been really tired when he’s gotten home late,y but I’m hoping things will settle down a bit… He finished a project that was doing very poorly. He pulled it out of the dumps and got it completely finished… He does a good job, from what I’ve seen and heard. He just has confused clients this time around. They don’t know what they really want. I just hope he enjoys what he does. That’s very important to me, and why I probably don’t have a “regular” “full-time” job… It’s more my freelance work, plus helping take care of my uncle who has Alzheimer’s, and helping out my elderly Nana. Family is everything to me!

      • Family is important and I hope everything goes well with you and your husband and your family. I will keep you guys in prayers and ask God to help you. I can’t help much but since you told me these things, the only thing I can do is pray.

      • Thank you. It always a pleasure to meet people like you. You are always welcome to chat with me anytime and if you need prayer, let me know and I will get to it πŸ˜€

      • Me too! It’s a lot of fun. I used to belong to MyOpera, but it was dissolved a year or two ago… I made loads of lasting friends on that platform! Many of us exchanged Facebook or personal contact info before it shut down. So I guess I’m a veteran blogger, but back in high school I didn’t really know what I was doing and lacked focus. It’s funny I ended up in the writing field…

      • That’s pretty cool, you have more experience than me. I enjoyed writing back at high school and after I got this account, I don’t regret anything. It’s been a pleasure here writing and meeting new people.

      • Sounds good! I had my blog before, but didn’t post much. It’s the past month that I’ve really gotten back into it– Since I’ve really healed from my surgery. If you don’t mind me asking, what’s your age range? I’m mid twenties. I don’t know many people my age who are as into anime anymore, unfortunately :/ So I was curious~

      • I am in my early 20’s. I am quite young and people still confused me as a high school student.
        Really? I never noticed that. I know that the college I go to, there some people who love anime. Most of the time, I see people liking Sword Art Online, Attack on Titan, and Dragon Ball Z.

      • People confuse me as younger, but that’s usually because I’m not on hormones. (Cat’s out of the bag on me being trans with my last post πŸ˜› lol) I most always have to show my ID when buying liquor, and sometimes with games, which hurts more… That means they think I’m under 18! I’ll be 25 in Feb, so that’s more than a five year difference… When I worked in a middle school, on dress down days people would sometimes confuse me. >.< Oh– I'm very short. I'm barely five feet.

        It's probably because I'm not in college anymore, that I'm not as exposed to people whoa re into anime. Like I said, I've tried Meetups, but even the people there can be more into the gaming side of things. I really only have this one friend (who I didn't mention in my story) who lives in NYC. We share stuff and recommend most often. He's how I found Crunchyroll.

        My husband unfortunately falls into the category you mention above… The people who like want to see the most popular stuff. Ugh. He'll ask after those things, and I'm honestly not too interested. Attack on Titan should be cool but I haven't been able to read the books yet… :< He basically only sees what Netflix has to offer… So new stuff from Funimation haha!! I DID love Psycho-Pass though. We're on Soul Eater now. He was bratty about trying it out, but ended up liking it. He's pretty much into just action-y shows, or things heavy on Sci-Fi. He's tried a few of the Sci-Fi ones on my Crunchy account, but those can bore me. I'm more into character-driven stories; he's into world-driven stories. So, opposites.

      • Interesting. Maybe you should take it as a compliment for being called young. They probably think you are youthful and active in life. My family and I are pretty short as well.
        I seen Attack on Titan but I have not read the books. I did hear Psycho Pass was a great series compared to Attack on Titan. I only seen one episode of Soul Eater and I enjoyed it. I missed out watching in Toonami on the series. I guess opposites attract with you guys in anime haha.

      • Yeah!! We loved Psycho-Pass!!

        And it’s funny, but he didn’t think much of anime before me. He really only knew about Gundam, and probably only liked that because he’s into robotics and space. We are total opposites in general!! It’s funny, but I doubt he thought he’d end up with a total otaku like me. Half the time he has no idea what I’m even saying– Do you know the show “I Can’t Understand What My Husband is Saying”? That’s his life, haha!! It’s nice that not much phases him, though. I just wish he’d be more into dramas and stuff like that. He really dragged his feet when I wanted to watch “The Devil is a Part-Timer!”, but when he actually looked up from his laptop, he realized it was a mix of drama, comedy, and action. I guess, I really want him to be more open-minded when it comes to the things he’ll try.

        Do you stream at all? I get free CR passes all the time with my subscription, if you want one. I think they’re good for a week, but you could probably get more for free if you do a trial. The only catch is that it’s mostly subbed.

        That’s another debate… I don’t get why people hate on dubs so much. I like to be able to watch something while I work, and don’t speak Japanese. I LOVE dubs! lol

      • Wow I never expected that, your husband must be some serious anime fan but I guess it’s a good thing that you two enjoy anime. I heard about “I Can’t Understand what my Husband is Saying”, it looks funny but I haven’t seen it yet. I also heard of “The Devil is a Part-Timer”, it looks like a funny show and I really want to see it but like all anime, I need money.

        I use to watch anime at Crunchyroll in the Summer. I watched the English Dub of Durarara!! And X2, Puella Madoka Magica, and Sword Art Online II (subbed). I prefer English Dub. I am with you in Dubs.

      • Oh no! He’s the one who can’t understand me. He’s just discerning in what he watches… He has less free time so he gets annoyed when I make us watch stuff he doesn’t think he’ll like. :< He barely even knew anime before me– Just the Gundam.

        Ooh!!! They have English DRRR!? I got the first novel last month and can't wait to read it! I'll have to watch afterwards~

        I was thinking of getting a Funimation sub because they have dubs, but they cost more… That irks me.

      • I am sorry to hear that. He should be check out more anime and get out of his comfort zone. I was just like that when I prefer only Dragon Ball Z, One Piece, and Naruto. He should definitely explore with you. I am also judgmental when it comes to anime but I at least attempt to test the waters. I hope everything goes well with the two of you.
        Yeah I hear that companies like FUNi and CR tend to raise the price on Dubs shows; it’s marketing technique. Companies like FUNi put prices to the Dubs shows because they know that fans would want to watch shows in English before it becomes a DVD/Blu-Ray set. Also to add, you can stream it on any mobile device so that’s a perk. I always try to avoid this and support the companies by buying the DVDs.
        Yeah, DRRR!! has an English Dub and you can watch it for free at Crunchyroll but it does not include episodes 25 and 12.5. They are OVA episodes and you can buy them separately from iTunes or buy the Blu-Ray set from Aniplex. I want to read the LNs real bad >_<.

      • I think so too!! I will always try an episode before I say “no”.

        That makes me sad. :< I actually talk about why I buy less anime in my article. I always want to see what it's like first, now, because so many of them are dull to me after reading the books. It's sad…

        They're for sale in the US! Are you in the US? I saw one at the bookstore the other day. I think they're just finally being released now. I wish OVAs were easier to find in the US… I tend to go for the fansubs, but would gladly shell out to be able to really truly finish a series. I went nuts looking for the Oreimo OVAs with my husband just looking at me stupidly, saying, "But wasn't that the end?" Haha!!

        I buy maybe half my books used, these days. They're too expensive for me to get as many as I want… So you could also find a used copy on amazon or something.

      • That is sad and like I said, he is really missing out. He should take his attention off from work at least once awhile and pay attention to you and your hobbies. I keep you guys in prayer.
        Yeah I live in the US, I am a citizen. That is the problem with OVAs these days. They can only be viewed on DVDs or if you live in Japan. Sometimes they don’t even come at the West :/
        I keep telling myself to buy used books to save money but if a book has something to offer like a poster, I am willing to cough up some dough hahaha.

      • WHAT books have posters?! I haven’t seen any of those… A lot of the stuff I get into is older or out of print, so used is a must, as well… Right now I’m into “Cynical Orange” (a manhwa) and “Ballad of a Shinigami” (only two volumes of the novel printed in US). So there actually is no new.

        You never know where people come from , on the web! I’m only up front in case people want to do work with me in person. I have my LinkedIn and stuff listed, so what’s the point in hiding I’m from RI? Work is slow these days…

        Thanks again πŸ™‚ He relaxes more on the weekends, thankfully. This weekend his father and brother are coming to visit! Fun~ They live about eight hours away in PA, where he’s from… The boonies haha!!

      • That’s nice, at least he is able to take a breather and you guys can spend family time.
        Yeah there is some manga that comes with exclusive bonuses. For example, Rosario Vampire Season II and Seraph of the End comes with mini posters attached. It does not say it has a poster but Seraph of the End has a min-poster.
        http://www.rightstufanime.com/RosarioVampire-Season-II-Graphic-Novel-5
        I recently found out that Attack on Titan doesn’t have posters but they also have other goods if you pay for limited edition manga. Volume 16 has playing cards and volume 17 has an exclusive DVD.
        http://www.rightstufanime.com/Attack-on-Titan-Graphic-Novel-16-with-Playing-Cards
        http://www.rightstufanime.com/Attack-on-Titan-GN-17-Special-Edition-with-DVD

      • Personally Rosario Vampire is pretty decent harem. There is anime on this too but I recommend reading the manga. The manga goes from cute to dark, mature themes. Even the male protagonist becomes from a wimp to a force to be reckon. I enjoy the manga more than anime. If you like monster girl harems (I’m looking at you Monster Musume, JK) and with themes menioned above, you will like this.

      • HAHA!! I started Monster Musume because it looked cute and funny, and created a monster out of my friend who now loves it! I will give it a shot and add it to my to-read list! Harems are usually funny, but it can be annoying when the “actual couple” doesn’t progress because of the other characters. Also character development is great! Kinetic characters are way better than static ones… They make me want to pull out my hair. I just finished Cynical Orange yesterday… It started out as cute and funny with some drama and ended on TOTAL DRAMA! I was shocked–it was so gripping!

      • I guess harem series can be like this, probably just for the comedy part. I haven’t seen Monster Musume but I seen some parts of it. It looks really funny and cute, ditto to your opinion lol.

      • Musume is a bit dirtier than the other harem’s I’ve read… It was interesting. I’m used to stuff like AI Love you and Nisekoi, where there isn’t much shown. And then Musume is all >BOOBS< on, like, half the pages… It was different.

        But yeah– I can get very frustrated. I read an article on it recently… But I don't remember where it was. It's funny if that's the gag, but not all manga-ka can execute it well enough.

      • I agree. In comparison, Rosario Vampire and Nisekoi are tamed. Monster Musume is not afraid at all of fanservice, they are monsters haha! If the show ever gets an English Dub, I wonder how will the voice actors would feel in these situations.

      • Interesting!! I haven’t seen the show, but I expect it to be less raunchy than the books. Things usually take that direction. Also there are games and stuff with situations I feel awkward bout, already, and they’re English voiced. I guess it takes guts to take the job.

      • Yeah, you have to be brave in that job. I will say that the Rosario Vampire anime uses unnecessary fanservice should have been limited. Nisekoi is more of a cute harem and funny moments.

      • Okay! I did add it to my list, so we’ll see what I have money for next month… ~_~ Also sorry for the late replies! I was so busy with Thanksgiving… We had it at our house and did most’ve the cooking!

  3. I really love that you included me in your nominees even though I blog mostly about stuff not related to yours. Haha! Thank you so much! I’m just about to start my post for this! πŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: Free Sirit Award: Friendship | Kemdirim Okezie

  5. Pingback: Friendship: From Strangers to Companions; Companions to Strangers | Writing with Red

  6. Pingback: Friendship and the Free Spirit Award | Toast and Tea Together

Leave a Reply

