Neon Genesis Evangelion manga review

Japan’s most controversial anime series is over…but not the manga version of Neon Genesis Evangelion! Series co-creator Yoshiyuki Sadamoto’s personal interpretation of the Evangelion characters and story is sure to intrigue new and old fans alike. In 2015, the “Angels” have returned, and Shinji Ikari, a fourteen year-old child of the new Earth, is forced by his father Gendo–commander of the secret organization NERV–to pilot the monstrous biomechanical weapon called “Evangelion” to match the Angels’ fearsome power…

More or less like the anime series, character designer Yoshiyuki Sadamoto constructed his version on the Neon Genesis Evangelion story. The manga still follows the same theme and concept like the anime. The characters are still intact, Shinji is still the depressed kid you know and Asuka is still prideful as ever.

I will be honest I have never seen the original anime, I only read this manga and watched the Evangelion movies, 1.11 and 2.22, so I can’t really say it is %100 exactly like the anime.

What I like in this anime is the awesome fight scenes with the Eva and the Angels. The SFX and the movement in each panels is almost like you can imagine the fight in your head. The characters were also the interesting part of the story. We Shinji feeling forced to combat these Angels and seeing the consequences of his actions. The key themes, like religion, philosophy, and symbolism are the center roles of the series.

If you are one of the few who just started the series, like I did before, you might get overwhelmed by confusion dialogue and settings. There were times I had to reread something because I did not understand what the characters were talking about (I am not going to go into details because I don’t want to spoil the story).

The story follows from the anime to the controversial movie End of Evangelion. However, to those who seen the movie, the conclusion to the story is far off different than its counterpart. There are also scenes that were drastically changed to make the story suitable and appropriate. If any of you are still angry about the ending, have no fret because the manga does it better.

There are a total of 14 volumes of the manga but Viz recently made an omnibus of 3-in-1 volumes; 13 and 14 are in single volumes. The books contains a SFX glossary where readers can learn what noise or effects were used in the story.

Conclusion:

I highly recommend reading the story, even if you are a new or old fan of the series. If you like Mecha genre stories with a spiritual or humanistic drama feel, this might be a good read.

11 thoughts on “Neon Genesis Evangelion manga review

    • You’re welcome, the manga did had issue and it took almost a year until it got out of hiatus. Anyway, it got done but it took a long time to finish. Probably the author did not want to end the series like E0E.

  1. Cool review over an awesome manga for an incredible franchise! I’ve watched it all, but I was so piqued by the ending of the End of Evangelion film that I had to check out the manga, as I heard it ended differently (well continued more like, but I enjoyed it a ton). I bought the last two volumes just to have a physical copy of the whole Third Impact senario, but then I went ahead and just bought the film, too, lol. But even though I haven’t read the preceding novels to the end, I can only imagine that they are just as fantastic, much like you mentioned! Confuzzling, but fantastic 🙂

    • Glad to hear that you liked this review. I like the manga’s ending more than End of Evangelion. The manga felt like it could go on more for Shinji’s story but it was also good the way it is.

  2. That’s really helpful! I’ve actually been eyeing this series for a while now, but since the anime was the original I was a bit hesitant to start with the manga. I really might have to though; it looks really good, and you make it sound even more interesting! 🙂

  3. Okay, I got around to reading this review like I promised. I’m intrigued that the manga ending is “far off different” as you say. I’ve seen the anime series and OVAs, so I’m pretty stoked about reading this. I would’ve likely been one of those people disappointed by the alternate ending, but now that you’ve forewarned me, I’ll read it with an open mind 🙂

    • I’m glad you like this review. Yeah the manga is actually different than the anime version. This was done by the character designer instead. The ending will be different in comparison with End of Evangelion.

Leave a Reply

