Samurai X (or Rurouni Kenshin): Reflection Review *Spoilers*

Synopsis

Kaoru goes to the harbor every day to see if Kenshin has returned. After a while, she starts looking back at her life with Kenshin and all the things that have happened. Taking place after the series has ended, it is mostly told in the point of view of Kamiya Kaoru. After their marriage Kenshin continues to wander, sick with an unknown disease. Kaoru, wanting to share the pain with Kenshin, asks Kenshin to infect her with the disease as well. However, because of Kenshin’s prolonged absence, his son Kenji, becomes a troubled teenager that seeks out Hiko in order to become an even better swordsman than his father ever was.

Review:

You would think that Kenshin would live in peace with his family, his beautiful wife Kaoru and his son… you are sadly mistaken. Kenshin, still unable to to forgive himself, he leaves his family and wanders; this led to Kenji to hate his father and leave for training, leaving Kaoru all alone. Meanwhile we find out that Kenshin stricken by a deadly disease while traveling. At home, Kaoru remembers the time she first met Kenshin and all the adventures together, from the first encounter to being d=saved by Jin-e and later saved by Enishi from the third/final arc of the series.

samurai-x-reflection-2 family

I did not really enjoy this OVA. This OVA is very depressing and I feel the characters are the opposite from their counterparts. In the actual series, the anime did have some drama, but it also had humor and action; this OVA was more drama series. Kenshin in both anime and manga, is serious and funny; this one looks like his life was sucked out of him. Kaoru in the anime was strong willed and funny angry girl, in this OVA, Kaoru is very depressed woman that wants his husband and son return. Personally, the only points I like was the soothing soundtrack and the fight with Kenshin and Enishi; too bad this is the only way to see the third arc.

rurouni-kenshin-seisouhen_02Kenji kenshin

I have yet to finish the manga series, but I believe that Kenshin living with his family has better ending to this.

Kenshin_Kaoru_Kenji

Instead we get this…

kenshin death

Kenshin dies and so does Kaoru.

Honestly, if the Nobuhiro Watsuki intended the series to be Seinen rather than Shonen, I would say that this is a masterpiece. However, since I seen the anime and then this, I was not happy. If you wished to watch this, I will not stop you. This is my opinion; I prefer the jolly, tough Kenshin rather than this lifeless, depressed Kenshin.

15 thoughts on “Samurai X (or Rurouni Kenshin): Reflection Review *Spoilers*

  1. Finish the manga. Seriously. It’s got a satisfying ending that fits with the story very well. I really love the manga for the whole Rurouni Kenshin story–more than the anime, for sure. 🙂

    • This is pretty different. I believe that if the series had drama like this OVA, it would be great. Unfortunately this OVA left out many things that makes Rurouni Kenshin great.

      • I never watched Tenjou Tenge but I am familiar with it. I only heard that the anime is not so great and the manga is a little bit better.

      • The series was wonderful – in my opinion. Own a couple of the figures. But the OVA – oh god, no, the OVA. It ended so poorly that the fans screamed bloody murder and the studio execs actually stepped down. That should give you an idea….

      • Yikes, maybe I should consider checking the series before I assume it’s bad. I will probably avoid the OVA based on your opinion.

      • Well, it was just my opinion. But…. if you watch the series, you’ll end up wanting to watch the OVA because you’ll assume that it gives a satisfying ending. IT DOESN’T. So, I understand if you avoid it completely. 🙂

Leave a Reply

