Soul Eater manga volume 1 review

Maka is a weapon meister, determined to turn her partner, a living scythe named Soul Eater, into a powerful death scythe – the ultimate weapon of Death himself! Charged with the task of collecting and devouring the tainted souls of 99 humans and 1 witch, Maka and her fellow meisters strive to master their weapons as they face off against the bizarre and dangerous minions of the underworld. But the meisters’ own personal quirks may prove a bigger obstacle than any sultry enchantress!

Story and art by by Atsushi Ohkubo.

No Spoilers

To be honest, I heard that Soul Eater was a really good series and how it has many fans. I remember the announcement when Toonami streamed the episodes around 2013; unfortunately, I only saw one episode and after struggling with the DIRECTV DVR, I gave up the series.

I got this book digitally from Barnes and Noble on Saturday. It was $2.99, you can’t beat that. This volume had 4 chapters, the first three chapters are prologues introducing the characters. Even though this book was short, it was quite satisfying. The characters were either be funny or tough looking in their own way. Characters like Black Star made smile because if though his weapon and fighting style resembles a ninja, he always causes a ruckus and never attempting a stealthy kill; not to mention, he is not a good peeping tom. Death the Kid is another character that made me chuckle because even though he is the son of Shinigami-Sama and he looks cool with using dual pistols, he is obsessed with anything symmetrical and loathes anything out of place (he even hates himself for having white stripes on his hair XD).

The story is quite interesting, it reminds me of Naruto because it has teenagers going to school and doing these dangerous tasks to prove that they are powerful. With volume 1 completed, I am hoping to get a copy of volume 2. This book had a nice start and I hope it stays like this.

5/5

3 thoughts on “Soul Eater manga volume 1 review

  1. I don’t know if you subscribe to either Hulu or Funimation, but I believe both have Soul Eater. (I don’t think Netflix does, but I could be wrong.) If you get a chance, I HIGHLY recommend watching this. It is a wonderful series.

    And they just recently started a prequel to it called Soul Eater NOT! on Funimation but it’s not dubbed yet 😦 and I don’t have time to watch series that aren’t dubbed but I’m looking forward to it once it is.

    • I am considering using FUNimation to watch the series. I heard that the series was really great. As for Soul Eater NOT! I did not know it was a prequel, I should probably check it out.

      • Funimation is worth every penny. And they give you a free trial subscription. At this point, they are now updating a number of series on a weekly basis. Which means there are plenty to get in trouble watching. 🙂

Leave a Reply

